2019 Book Prize Winners

The 2019 ATIG book prizes were officially awarded in November during the ATIG business meeting at the meetings of the American Anthropological Association in Vancouver, British Columbia.

The Nelson Graburn Prize is awarded for an author’s first book in the anthropology of tourism. The Edward Bruner Prize is awarded for an author’s second or subsequent book. The 2019 winners were:

Nelson Graburn Book Prize
Pursuit of Happiness, by Bianca C. Williams. Duke University Press. 2018.
Ethno-erotic Economies, by George Paul Meiu. University of Chicago Press. 2017.
Edward Bruuner Book Award
Far Out, by Mark Liechty. University of Chicago Press. 2017.
Dream Trippers, by David A. Palmer and Elijah Siegler. University of Chicago Press. 2017.

The members of the ATIG Board wish to extend their thanks to the book prize committee and to all those who submitted nominations for the 2019  competition. We look forward to surveying the frontiers of the field with you again this year!

Call for Self-Nominations!

Dear ATIG members,

Please find important information concerning upcoming elections for open board seats and renewal of ATIG as an Interest Group.

All American Anthropological Association members who are current members of ATIG are invited to self-nominate for one of our open board positions. Please become or renew your membership by March 1, 2019 to self nominate and vote.
· Convener
· Secretary
· Member At Large (Student)
· Member At Large (Undesignated)
Descriptions of the positions are available on the ATIG website: http://atig.americananthro.org/

These 3-year terms run from the end of the meetings 2019 to end of the meetings 2022. The Convener also includes a fourth year as ex-officio member of board to ensure transition of ATIG leadership. Board members are expected to commit to attend the Annual Meetings of the AAA and to participate in both the ATIG Board and Business Meetings that are held during the AAA meetings. It is especially important for newly elected board members to attend the 2019 to participate in the board meeting and transition into office.

ATIG uses the AAA standardized self-nomination format. Please see the attached forms; these are also available for downloading from the ATIG website. Self-Nomination includes:
– a brief bio
– statement of goals
– photo (optional)
The deadline for self-nomination is March 10, 2019.
Send self-nomination materials to Kimberly Cavanagh [email protected]

Renewal of ATIG as an Interest Group 2019-2022
The election is combined with the vote for renewal of ATIG as a formal interest group in the AAA organization. According to AAA rules, renewal must be submitted every three years and requires support of 25 AAA members. We will hold elections from March 11-19, 2019.

We encourage you to consider yourself for self-nomination.
Thank you for your participation in ATIG.

Michael A. Di Giovine, ATIG Convenor
Kimberly Cavanagh, ATIG Organization & Communications Chair

2018 Book Prize Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 ATIG book prizes!

The inaugural award of ATIG book prizes was conducted in November during the the ATIG business meeting at the meetings of the American Anthropological Association in San Jose, California. The award ceremony was a semi-formal and lively affair, with much reminiscing about the growth of ATIG as a community of scholars since the interest group’s formation in 2012.

In honor of his prodigious contributions to the anthropological study of tourism and in appreciation his personal influence on ATIG and many of its members, the prize for an author’s first book has been named for Nelson Graburn. It was fitting that he personally presented the inaugural award of the prize named in his honor.

For the time being, the prize for an author’s subsequent book has not been named. If you have an idea about a good name for this prize, please get in touch with us!

The 2018 winners were:

Nelson Graburn Book Prize
Unorthodox Kin, by Naomi Leite. University of California Press, 2017.
Tourism and Informal Encounters in Cuba, by Valerio Simoni. Berghahn Books, 2016.
Subsequent Book Award
Apprenticeship Pilgrimage: Developing Expertise through Travel and Training, by Lauren Miller Griffith and Jonathan S. Marion. Rowman and Littlefield, 2017.
Tourism and Memories of Home: Migrants, Displaced People, Exiles and Diasporic Communities, edited by Sabine Marschall. Channel View Publications, 2017.

The members of the ATIG Board wish to extend their thanks to the book prize committee and to all those who submitted nominations for the 2018 prize competition. The depth and breadth of research being conducted under the ever-expanding umbrella of “Anthropology of Tourism” is commendable. We look forward to surveying the frontiers of the field with you again next year!

Call for ATIG Program Committee Members

We invite applications to join the ATIG Program Committee. The committee works together each year to determine which AAA panel will be named the official ATIG-sponsored session (an “invited panel”) to be held during the AAA Meetings.

Committee members agree to read and evaluate all submitted panel proposals between March 24 and April 3 of this year. Committee members must be official voting members of ATIG (and, by extension, of the AAA) and will be expected to recuse themselves from evaluating any panel proposal they are personally involved in.

If you are interested in this position, please email the ATIG Program Chair, Clare A. Sammells, the following information by Friday, March 17:
1) Name
2) Email
3) Institutional affiliation and postition
4) A brief biographical statement indicating your work and interests in the area of the anthropology of tourism

Call for ATIG Invited Panel at AAA 2017 in Washington DC

ATIG is soliciting proposals for the ATIG-sponsored session (an “invited panel”) to be held during the 116th AAA Meetings in Washington DC, November 29-December 3, 2017.

Prospective Invited Panel proposals should prioritize the use of tourism as an analytical framework or object of analysis, and should contribute to the anthropology of tourism, broadly conceived.  Panels that focus on the critical examination of the 2017 meeting’s theme, “Anthropology Matters!” are especially welcome. Proposed panels conceptualized on issues other than the AAA meeting theme will also be considered. (A full description of the meeting theme can be found here.)

“Anthropology Matters!” also matters for the anthropology of tourism.  As an industry, tourism engages billions of people and dollars, has major effects on the physical and natural environment, and influences how people see themselves as individuals and societies.  It is a practice that claims to bridge cultural differences, even as it creates political divisions.  ATIG is particularly interested in sponsoring a cutting-edge session that critically reflects on these realities and the new and unexpected ways of considering how the anthropology of tourism can be said to “matter.”

Deadline for proposal submission: Friday, March 24, 2017.  (ATIG will notify submitters of its selection by Monday, April 3, 2017)

Proposals Must Include:

Title and Abstract of proposed session
Names of Session organizer(s), affiliation, contact email(s), and phone
List of Papers, including titles, abstracts, author names and affiliations

Submit by email as attachment to Clare A. Sammells, ATIG Program Chair.