Call for Self-Nominations!

Dear ATIG members,

Please find important information concerning upcoming elections for open board seats and renewal of ATIG as an Interest Group.

All American Anthropological Association members who are current members of ATIG are invited to self-nominate for one of our open board positions. Please become or renew your membership by March 1, 2019 to self nominate and vote.
· Convener
· Secretary
· Member At Large (Student)
· Member At Large (Undesignated)
Descriptions of the positions are available on the ATIG website:

These 3-year terms run from the end of the meetings 2019 to end of the meetings 2022. The Convener also includes a fourth year as ex-officio member of board to ensure transition of ATIG leadership. Board members are expected to commit to attend the Annual Meetings of the AAA and to participate in both the ATIG Board and Business Meetings that are held during the AAA meetings. It is especially important for newly elected board members to attend the 2019 to participate in the board meeting and transition into office.

ATIG uses the AAA standardized self-nomination format. Please see the attached forms; these are also available for downloading from the ATIG website. Self-Nomination includes:
– a brief bio
– statement of goals
– photo (optional)
The deadline for self-nomination is March 10, 2019.
Send self-nomination materials to Kimberly Cavanagh [email protected]

Renewal of ATIG as an Interest Group 2019-2022
The election is combined with the vote for renewal of ATIG as a formal interest group in the AAA organization. According to AAA rules, renewal must be submitted every three years and requires support of 25 AAA members. We will hold elections from March 11-19, 2019.

We encourage you to consider yourself for self-nomination.
Thank you for your participation in ATIG.

Michael A. Di Giovine, ATIG Convenor
Kimberly Cavanagh, ATIG Organization & Communications Chair

Call for Nominations – 2019 ATIG Book Prize

The Anthropology of Tourism Interest Group is excited to announce our second annual new book prize. There are two separate prizes:

  1. The Nelson Graburn Prize – a prize for an author’s first book
  2. The Ed Bruner Prize – a prize for an author’s second or subsequent book

We are accepting nominations for our second annual book prize in both categories. All books must have been published January 2017 to the present to be considered this year. If a book has previously been nominated, it cannot be nominated again. Please submit the name of the author, the book to be considered, the publisher information to [email protected] and indicate which prize (1st or subsequent publication).

Please submit all nominations by March 11th. Once the list of nominations is complete, publishers will be contacted directly to have copies of the books sent to the committees. Self-nominations are also welcome. Winners of the book prize will be announced at the American Anthropological Association Annual Meetings in Vancouver, Canada, 2019.

Click here to learn about previous winners.

2018 Book Prize Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 ATIG book prizes!

The inaugural award of ATIG book prizes was conducted in November during the the ATIG business meeting at the meetings of the American Anthropological Association in San Jose, California. The award ceremony was a semi-formal and lively affair, with much reminiscing about the growth of ATIG as a community of scholars since the interest group’s formation in 2012.

In honor of his prodigious contributions to the anthropological study of tourism and in appreciation his personal influence on ATIG and many of its members, the prize for an author’s first book has been named for Nelson Graburn. It was fitting that he personally presented the inaugural award of the prize named in his honor.

For the time being, the prize for an author’s subsequent book has not been named. If you have an idea about a good name for this prize, please get in touch with us!

The 2018 winners were:

Nelson Graburn Book Prize
Unorthodox Kin, by Naomi Leite. University of California Press, 2017.
Tourism and Informal Encounters in Cuba, by Valerio Simoni. Berghahn Books, 2016.
Subsequent Book Award
Apprenticeship Pilgrimage: Developing Expertise through Travel and Training, by Lauren Miller Griffith and Jonathan S. Marion. Rowman and Littlefield, 2017.
Tourism and Memories of Home: Migrants, Displaced People, Exiles and Diasporic Communities, edited by Sabine Marschall. Channel View Publications, 2017.

The members of the ATIG Board wish to extend their thanks to the book prize committee and to all those who submitted nominations for the 2018 prize competition. The depth and breadth of research being conducted under the ever-expanding umbrella of “Anthropology of Tourism” is commendable. We look forward to surveying the frontiers of the field with you again next year!

Cannabis Cultures AAA Event Featured in Anthropology News

Cannabis Cultures tour at the Denver AAA meeting. Photo courtesy AAA/Josh Gold Photography.
Cannabis Cultures tour at the Denver AAA meeting. Photo courtesy AAA/Josh Gold Photography.

ATIG was pleased to co-sponsor the “Cannabis Cultures” event at the AAA annual meeting in Denver last fall. A write-up of the event is featured in the latest edition of Anthropology News. Please click the following link to read the full story:



As always, if you have any ideas for future AAA events or activities that might be of interest to ATIG, please  let us know!

AAA “Cannabis Cultures” Souvenir T-Shirts Available

A special edition “Cannabis Cultures” t-shirt is now available with a donation to the Association for Political and Legal Anthropology. Your donation supports a unique opportunity for AAA members to engage with our host city of Denver and learn firsthand about the changing legal and social status of cannabis—both familiar and strange. Funds collected will help offset the costs of providing this free event to registered participants at the Denver AAA meeting.
You may find more information about how to donate and receive your t-shirt through the AAA website by following the instructions on the APLA website.