Book Prize

Call for Nominations for ATIG’s Book Prize

The Anthropology of Tourism Interest Group sponsors two separate book prizes: 1) the Nelson Graburn Book Prize for an author’s first book in the anthropology of tourism, 2) the Ed Bruner Prize for an author’s second or subsequent book.

To be eligible, all books must have been published within the two calendar years prior to the award competition. Please submit the name of the author, the book to be considered, the publisher information to [email protected] and indicate which prize (1st or subsequent publication). Self-nominations are also welcome.

The deadline for 2020 nominations will be announced soon. Stay tuned!. Winners will be announced at the American Anthropological Association Annual Meetings in Vancouver, Canada.

Past Winners

The first annual book prize in both categories was awarded at the 2018 meetings of the American Anthropological Association in San Jose, California. The inaugural winners were:

Nelson Graburn Book Prize

Ed Bruner Book Award